Author Topic: Which is the best 355 kit?  (Read 5146 times)

Spacecowboy

• View Profile
Which is the best 355 kit?
« on: September 29, 2013, 12:28:00 AM »
Hi

Been lurking on this site for a while and whilst I'm keen to build a DN8, funds at this point are not available.  So having restored Beetles and Minis in the past I feel il cut my teeth on a cheaper build first as I've never done a kit car before. So the question is simple - which is the best 355 kit out there in terms of correctness and ease? I've seen Dave Jones kit and Extremes online but does anyone have experience of either or both?

crossy

• Don't you just love traffic cops!
    • View Profile
    • Collagen Light Therapy and Sunbed Hire & Sales
Re: Which is the best 355 kit?
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2013, 10:00:52 AM »
Hi,

The Extreme 355 was always considered by most to be the best although the BAD design gen 2 gave the extreme a run for the money. As you say also the Dave Jones kit was also a contender. In terms of accuracy There was a company EXACT 355 I think they were called that produced a more dimensionally  accurate kit although at the expense of part of the sill opening with the door which frankly looked bl**dy awful!

I did look into building a 355 kit, even bought the donor car but then changed my mind at the last minute in favour of a DNA 360. Yes, this was more expensive initially but its also well worth considering the resale value at the end of the build and all your hard work. If you do the sums and look at resale values you'll see overall the DNA is a far better buy!   8)
Hoping to enjoy half an hour in heaven..........before the devil knows I'm dead!

MADMAN

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2013, 10:18:09 AM »
I,ve built an Extreme 355 and a BAD 355 I prefer the Extreme.
But my recomendation is save a little more money dont rush into it and buy a DNA you will be happier in the long run
MADMAN 8) 

Spacecowboy

• View Profile